APRA Constitution

1. The name of the Association shall be “Abbey Precincts Residents Association” (‘the Association’)

2. All persons eligible to vote in St AlbansCity and District Council elections in Verulam ward and normally resident in the Abbey Precincts, or those with business premises there, shall be eligible for membership. The Abbey Precincts is that area surrounding the Cathedral and Abbey Church of St Alban bounded by Holywell Hill, High Street, Verulam Road, Branch Road and the River Ver.

3. The Association shall be independent, non-party political and non-discriminatory.

4. The objects of the Association shall be to:

a)      Protect and promote the identity, integrity and interests of the area;

b)      Take note of matters arising in local councils and other official bodies or that otherwise may affect the area;

c)      Communicate and consult with members of the Association as appropriate;

d)      Make representations and take action as appropriate; and,

e)      Promote friendly relations throughout the area and wider community.

5. An Executive Committee (‘the Committee’) consisting of not more than ten members shall be elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting (‘AGM’). The Committee shall conduct the affairs of the Association and five members shall form a quorum. Committee decisions shall be decided by simple majority. All members of the Committee shall retire at the next AGM but may be re-elected.

6. The Committee shall from its members appoint Officers comprising Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer (all honorary). Officers may have more than one role.

7. The Committee shall meet not less than four times each year. Such meetings shall be convened by the Chairman or the Secretary as necessary, or within a week of receiving a written request to do so from three members of the Committee. Any member of the Committee failing to attend three consecutive meetings of the Committee without good cause shall cease to be a member of the Committee.

8. A Working Party may be formed by the Committee where necessary. Non-members may be co-opted. Working Party deliberations will be minuted and reported back to the Committee for approval before any action is taken, unless prior delegated authority has been given.

9. The Committee shall have the power to co-opt up to two further members until the next AGM.

10. Street Reps shall be appointed by the Committee. They should inform the Committee of any relevant matters arising in their designated area, distribute notices, help with communication and recruitment and, where appropriate, collect subscriptions.

11. The Secretary or another member appointed by the Committee as ex-officio Membership Secretary shall maintain a full list of members and their contact details.

12. Communication with members will be in electronic form wherever possible. Individual Members may elect to the use of written communication.

13. A Banking Account shall be held in the name of the Association into which all monies received shall be paid and from which withdrawals shall be made only upon the signature of any two of the four Officers.

14. An Independent Examiner shall be appointed annually, and shall be eligible for re-appointment but shall not hold any office in the Association while so acting.

15. A statement of accounts shall be presented to each meeting of the Committee and a balance sheet, together with an income and expenditure account, shall be submitted for approval to the AGM. The annual accounts shall be signed by the Treasurer and the Independent Examiner.

16. The AGM shall be held within the first month of the Association’s year, starting the first of November, for the following purposes, to:

a)      Receive the Committee’s report on the preceding year’s activities;

b)      Receive the independently examined accounts in respect of the preceding year;

c)      Agree subscriptions rates;

d)      Elect members of the Committee;

e)      Appoint the Independent Examiner; and,

f)        Transact any other relevant business.

17. At least four weeks prior notice of the AGM shall be given specifying the place, day and hour of the meeting.

18. Fifteen members present at any General Meeting shall form a quorum.

19. Nomination of new Committee members shall be accompanied by the nominee’s consent and short biography and the names of the Proposer and Seconder. In the event of the Secretary failing to receive sufficient nominations to fill all Committee vacancies, the Chairman of the General Meeting may invite nominations from the floor in respect of such unfilled vacancies only.

20. A General Meeting of the Association other than the AGM shall be convened by the Secretary as soon as practicable (subject to giving at least 14 days’ prior notice) when so instructed by the Committee or on receipt of a request signed by at least 10 members specifying the business for which the meeting is to be convened. No other business shall be transacted at any such meeting.

21. The Chairman or Deputy Chairman shall preside at all meetings of the Association except that if neither is present within 15 minutes after the time appointed for the meeting the members present shall elect one of their number as acting Chairman of the meeting only.

22. Voting at meetings shall be by a show of hands. The Chairman of any meeting shall only vote where otherwise there is an equality of votes on any matter. Minutes of all General Meetings shall be kept and made available to members within 10 days.

23. If, in the opinion of the Committee, the conduct of any person shall be considered prejudicial to the interests of the Association, the Committee shall have the right to withdraw membership from such person. A debarred member may appeal against the decision of the Committee to a General Meeting, when two-thirds of the members present and voting shall be considered a majority.

24. The Committee shall have the authority to decide all matters not provided for in this Constitution.

25. No alteration shall be made to this Constitution except by a resolution passed by at least two-thirds of the members voting at a General Meeting.

— end —

Version 1.4 November 2017